1955: The De John Sisters

 Dec, 04 - 2013   no comments   1950s Music

The DeJohn Sisters were an American vocal duo, Julie and Dux DeJohn (born DiGiovanni). They were born in Chester, Pennsylvania, which had been the hometown of an earlier vocal group, The Four Aces. They were the daughters of a dry cleaner and worked in their parents’ store after school, but while working at the club where the Four Aces were discovered, they were heard by a scout who worked for Epic Records, a subsidiary label of Columbia. On signing with Epic, they anglicized their name and made a record, “Should I Run?”


This was not a hit, but their next record, “(My Baby Don’t Love Me) No More,” written by the sisters with music by their brother Leo in 1955 and became a major hit (#6 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart,  #8 on the Billboard Best Sellers chart).

It was, however, the only one that the sisters had. In the late 1950s they moved to the parent Columbia label, and a 28-track compilation of their recordings is available on CD.

They also made an album “Yes Indeed!” and at least one single for United Artists Records and four singles for a small independent label, Sunbeam Records, including the duet “Watermelon Heart” with Dick Haymes.

  • Chester, Pennsylvania
  • February 12, 1955
  • Dux DeGiovanni
  • Julie DeGiovanni
  • The Complete DeJohn Sisters

maxresdefault (2)

  • C’est La Vie 1955
  • Don’t Promise Me 1956
  •  I’m Learnin’ The Charleston 1955
  •  Mu Cha Cha
  • My Baby Don’t Love Me No More
  • Theresa (The Little Flower) 1954
  • A Present For Bob 1955
  • Big D 1956
  • Hotta Chocolotta 1956
  • Love Is The Tender Trap 1955
  • (My Baby Dont Love Me) No More 1954

The DeJohn Sisters – (My Baby Don’t Love Me) No More (1954)

The DeJohn Sisters – C’est La Vie (1955)

The DeJohn Sisters – (My Baby Don’t Love Me) No More (1954)

  • Epic Records
  • Columbia
  • United Artists Records
  • Sunbeam Records
  • Okeh
  • Sunbeam
  • Capitol

Related articles

Leave a Reply